Our Board


Professor Steve Larkin

Professor Steve Larkin is a Kungarakan man from Darwin in the Northern Territory. He is a Stolen Generations descendant and is currently Chief Executive Officer, Batchelor Institute.

A former social worker, Steve has worked in urban, rural and remote Aboriginal communities with state and federal governments, the Australian Medical Association and the National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation in the areas of social health, substance misuse and men and prisoners health.

Steve holds a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) from QUT, a Masters in Social Science from Charles Sturt University and a Bachelor of Social Work from University of Queensland. He also holds appointments on a number of other Boards, including Beyond Blue.


Deputy Chair

Leann Wilson

Leann Wilson is a Bidjara and Kara-Kara woman from Queensland. She has a strong passion for her people, including strong cultural ties to her South Sea ancestry.

Leann has held leadership positions in both state and federal government departments. She is currently a Director of Regional Economic Solutions, an organisation that supports economic development for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. Leann currently holds a Board position with the Qld Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Business and Innovation Panel, the Aboriginal Centre for the Performing Arts (ACPA), is a panel member of the Qld Reparations Review Panel and is a member of the Australian Red Cross Divisional Advisory Board Qld

She has been a finalist in the Queensland Telstra Woman of the Year, and is also a Fellow of Bond University.


Stephanie Harvey

Stephanie Harvey a proud Bidjara woman from Queensland. She is currently the CEO of Community First Development, the largest grass roots community development agency in Australia working to tackle Indigenous disadvantage.

For over 30 years Stephanie has worked in the human and community services sector for both government and not-for-profit organisations.

Aden Ridgeway

Aden Ridgeway, a proud Gumbayyngirr man, is the first Indigenous person to be elected as a Parliamentary Leader when he held the position of Deputy Leader for the Australian Democrats during 2001-02.

He is currently a partner at consultancy firm Cox Inall Ridgeway, a specialist Indigenous consultancy service. Aden is the past Chair of Bangarra Dance Theatre and the NSW Reparations Repayments Scheme Panel.

He is currently the Patron of the Centre for Aboriginal Independence and Enterprise and the Saltwater Freshwater Festival.

Russell Taylor

Russell Taylor, a Kamilaroi man, was the Principal at the Australian Institute for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies until December 2016. His career includes more than 30 years in various public sector senior executive positions and 20 years in the banking and finance sector.

Russell is a member of the Council of the University of Technology Sydney and a member of the National Museum of Australia’s Indigenous Reference Group.

Read about our CEO

Fiona is a Wuthathi (Shelburne Bay) descendant with family roots in the Torres Straits. She has an extensive background working with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and communities.

Learn More

Subscribe to our Mailing List

Terms & conditions     |     Privacy Policy     |     © Copyright Healing Foundation 2021. All rights reserved     |     Website designed, developed by

Message: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website may contain images, voices and names of people who have passed away.